Step 1: Select an online DMP tool
Several free online DMP tools are available:
Step 2. Once a tool is selected, create a user account on the tool's website
Step 3: Sign in, and click on 'Create plans'
If this is your first DMPonline plan, no plans will be displayed on this page.
Once you have created one plan or more, it will be listed on 'My Dashboard' (as on the image below), when signing in.
Step 4: Complete the preliminary plan details
Fields to be completed on this page include:
Note the options on the rights as well! (next to 'or').
Click 'Create plan'.
Step 5: Complete the preliminary plan details
Complete additional project details.
It is a good idea to select (on the right) the Digital Curation Centre as guidance.
Step 6: Add contributors (if applicable)
Example of a contributor added is shown below.
This DMP step can also be skipped if not applicable.
Add a contributor and details of contributor.
Contributor will now appear in the contributors list.
Step 7: View 'Plan overview'
The details displayed here give an indication of the information required from you when creating the plan.
Cllick 'Write plan' to proceed.
Step 8: MAIN DMP sections are displayed
The information displayed here are the main topics to be addressed during the completion of the DMP.
The tool will be guiding you through each of these steps.
The numbers in brackets next to each of the topics, are an indication of the questions you will be addressing when completing that section of the plan. As an example, the (0/2) next to 'Data Collection' shows that there ae two questions requiring answers, but that so far zero questions have been answered. These numbers change as you progress through the plan; it is an indication of progress, in other words.
Step 9: Start completing the plan
Do this by clicking on 'Data Collection'.
Once you have clicked, the page as shown below will appear.
There is a block on the left where the data collection information (answer) will be supplied by you.
Also note the guidance on the right of the page; it is important to consult the guidance in order to answer the questions on the right thoroughly.
Also note the blocks on the bottom right. Those are additional guidance options that can be expanded by clicking on the '+'.
The image below this immediate image shows the layout once the '+' have been clicked.
Step 10: Start completing the plan
This image shows the layout of tje page once you have clicked on the '+' to obtain additional guidance.
Click 'Save' once you have added all the appliable information to the block.
Step 11: Proceed to the next question of this DMP section
You will notice that the DMP has been updated to show that 1 of the 2 questions in the 'Data Collection' section has been anwered.
\
Step 12: Complete all the section of this category: Data Collection
Consult the questions and guidance on the right when adding information.
Click 'Save' once you have added all information to the 'Data Collection' block.
Step 13: Check that all questions have been addressed
Once you have added the requested information to the question blocks, and saved the input, the tool should show an updated progress number.
In this instance, it will indicate that 2 of 2 'Data Collection' questions have been answered.
It will also show that 2 of the tool's total of 13 questions have been answered.
You will now proceed to the next section of the Data Management Plan.
Step 14: Proceed to the nect section of the Data Management Plan
With the 'Data Collection' stage completed, you are now ready to proceed to the next stage of the plan.
Click on 'Documentation and Metadata' to expand that section of the plan.
Step 15: Complete this section of the Data Management Plan
As was the case with the previous section ('Data Collection'), the answer blocks are on the left while the expanded questons and guidance are on the right.
Add the requested information.
You will note that there is only one main question asked ('What dcumentation and metadata will accompany the data?'), while the guidance on the right prompt you to answer several subquestions within the main question.
Click 'Save' when done.
Step 16: Answer as detailed as possible
Remember to consult the additional guidance at the bottom right of the page in order to provide detailed information on your planned data 'Documentation and Metadata' practices.
Step 17: Complete the entire Data Management Plan
Complete the entire plan following the steps described for 'Data Collection' and 'Documentation and Metadata'.
Once all the plan sections have been addressed, and questions answered, the tool will indicate this progress.
As is shown in the image below, there are no outstanding questions to be answered.
Step 18: Add the plan sharing details
You will now add the envisaged plan sharing details (NOT the data sharing details).
You will indicate:
Complete these fields, and click on 'Submit'.
Step 19: Download your Data Management Plan
While your completed plan will always be available on the DMPOnline website, you also have the option of downloading the plan.
Several download options are available.
Select your option.
The downloaded option can now be distributed, shared with the funder, and stored in a secure location.
Step 20: Additional activities and functions
When accessing your plan via your DMPOnline dashboard, you will see additional actions available to you.
These actions include sharing the plan, editing the plan, copying the plan, or removing the plan.
The editing function is especially helpful, as DMPs are dynamic in nature and you might want to update or amend your data management activities or practices.
Step 21: Should assistance with this plan be required, several options are available